Stanford Repertory Theater Summer Festival Film Series

This is an Archive of a Past Event

As part of their 2018 20th Anniversary Summer Festival, "Nevertheless They Persisted," Stanford Repertory Theater and Stanford Continuing Studies present a free film series focusing on powerful female protagonists who confront patriarchy in its various forms. It will feature three films from two Academy Award winning film directors, the Greek Michael Cacoyannis (his famous ‘trilogy’ based on plays of Euripides) and the German Margarethe von Trotta. Each film is introduced by a Stanford or guest faculty member, who leads a discussion with the audience after the screening. Speacial thanks to the Michael Cacoyannis Foundation for helping mount the 2018 film series.

July 9 Cacoyannis, Electra (1962) - Prof. Rush Rehm

July 16 Cacoyannis, Trojan Women (1971) - Prof. Katerina Zacharia

July 23 Cacoyannis, Iphigenia (1977) - Prof. Katerina Zacharia

July 30 von Trotta, Lost Honour of Katerina Blum (1975) - Prof. Matthew Smith

Aug. 6 von Trotta, Marianne and Juliane (1981) - Prof. Rush Rehm

Aug. 13 von Trotta, Hannah Arendt (2012) - Prof. Branislav Jakovljevic

Please check back here for location updates.

SRT gratefully thanks the following for their generous support of our 2018 Nevertheless They Persisted Festival: Stanford Continuing Studies, Vice-Provost for Undergraduate Education, Office of the Provost and the President, School of Humanities and Sciences, Department of Theater and Performance Studies (TAPS), Department of Classics, Graduate School of Education, McCoy Family Center for Ethics in Society, Office of the Vice President for the Arts, Stanford Humanities Center, Division of Literatures, Cultures, and Languages, Department of Music, Center for Comparative Studies in Race and Ethnicity, Office of Religious Life, the Clayman Institute, Department of Religious Studies, Department of English, Department of Art and Art History, the Michael Cacoyannis Foundation, and generous gifts from Brad and Judy O’Brien, Todd and Susan Makler, and William Eddelman.