Séverine Ballon: Chaise Èlectrique

This is an Archive of a Past Event

Qubit and CCRMA presents "Chaise Èlectrique," an evening-length recital featuring French soloist Séverine Ballon with her interpretation of five adventurous works for violoncello and electronics.

Electric Chair Music, the working title for Brian Ferneyhough’s landmark Time and Motion Study II for singing cellist and electronics, was written in 1973-76. Already nearly 40 years old, where is the medium of violoncello and electronics now? How is a younger generation of composers responding to this most traditional of instruments when confronting it with alien worlds of electronic sound?

Featuring music by:

  • Aaron Einbond
  • Franck Bedrossian
  • Eoin Callery
  • Alec Hall
  • Bryan Jacobs